President Droupadi Murmu confreres Bharat Ratna…….

Last Updated on March 30, 2024 by admin

President Droupadi Murmu conferred Bharat Ratna to four eminent personalities at the presentation ceremony which was held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan today which includes two former Prime Ministers. The fifth Bharat Ratna to BJP veteran L. K. Advani will be conferred at his residence.

Of the five personalities who are given the highest Indian civilian honour this year, except for former Deputy Prime Minister L. K. Advani, former Prime Ministers Chaudhary Charan Singh and P. V. Narasimha Rao, eminent agricultural scientist and architect of Green Revolution M.S. Swaminathan, and former Chief Minister of Bihar Karpoori Thakur, were awarded posthumously.

President Droupadi Murmu conferred Bharat Ratna upon Shri Karpoori Thakur posthumously. Working tirelessly to improve the lives of the disadvantaged people, he commanded high regard and had earned the honorific, ‘Jan-Nayak’. Shri Karpoori Thakur was a freedom fighter and a champion of equality and inclusive development. He was known for his simple living and selfless actions. On behalf of the late Shri Karpoori Thakur, Bharat Ratna was received by Shri Ramnath Thakur, his son.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *